Ready to Rock: Audition Prep. Part 2

Beyond the singing, acting, and dancing part of the audition, there is also the less exciting part of the finishing off the rest of the package.

How should I dress? What should I bring? Do I need dance shoes? Do I need a resume? Do I need a headshot?

Literally all the questions. And being the neurotically detail-oriented perfectionist that I am, I have meticulously planned it all! So let’s talk about it; what else do I need to prepare for the audition?

What should I wear?

This is always a kind of tricky thing because there are so many different philosophies. For ballet auditions, the attire is super easy; black leotard and pink tights with hair in a bun! For theater auditions, the range of options is huge and a little daunting… So how do you decide? After doing some research, and based on what I remember from my college days, there are a couple of different approaches you can take:

Dress for the part you want: Does the show have an overarching theme or very notable costume? Then dress for the part you want! This does not mean you show up in a costume. Let me say it again: this does not mean you show up in a costume. Think about the how you can dress to allude to the part instead of dressing in a costume. For example, in Rock of Ages, it takes place in the 80’s on the rock scene, and the parts that I’m going for typically wear rock and roll-chick outfits (mini skirts, leather, fishnets, heels, rockband shirts, skimpy tops, etc.). Instead of showing up in a costume, I’ve found a short skort that I can dance in, a crop top that makes me feel comfortable and cute, and I might toss on a denim jacket over it for the non-dancing portions of the audition. This approach definitely takes finesse and a lot of thought, so if you want something a little easier you can…

Dress in simple clothing that shows you off: The best default is to show up in simple attire that allows the director to imagine you in anything they want. Pick an outfit that makes you feel confident and that you know helps you look your best! Avoid prints of something that could distract the auditors from you. If I were to do this, have a simple pair of leggings and a form-fitted tank top that I feel comfortable dancing and singing in that I would definitely wear. Be sure to choose something that allows you to move for dancing but that you also feel comfortable standing in to sing and/or read.

How should I do my hair and makeup? Again, choose a style that makes you feel confident! If you decide to go with a more simple outfit and you want to wear makeup, choose something ismple that enhances you and doesn’t distract from you and your talent. Don’t me wrong, I love some bold graphic eyeliner and dramatic eyemakeup, but you want the auditors to focus on your performance and less on your makeup. Simple and fresh are always my recommendation!

If you have long hair and know that you might be dancing, then you need to make sure to keep it out of your face; pin the front back, wear it half-up-half-down, whatever you need to secure it out of your face. I love dancing hairography, but it can be a bit distracting when you watch someone else dancing with their hair flying in every direction.

It seems silly to put so much thought into your appearance, but it’s important to make a good first impression, and unfortunately, the first impression you give someone is your appearance. Set yourself up for success by taking some time to look and feel your best for your auditors!

I love this outfit! I feel confident, I love the colors, and it makes the dancer in me super happy. It might be one of my options for my audition!

What should I bring?

Based on what I learned in college, I once might have told you to bring everything: multiple outfits, all of your dance shoes, your binder of song selections, enough resumes and headshots to hand out to everyone at the audition, a gallon of water, a jacket in case it’s cold, shoes to wear to the audition and shoes to wear during the audition, extra hair and makeup provisions, etc…

I think we can slightly abridge this list… So here are some things that I would recommend that you bring to your audition!

  • Resume: especially if you’re getting serious about performing professionally, start putting together a resume. Canva has many templates to help you put together something professional! If you bring a resume, you should also attach your headshot to the back for a more professional presentation; make sure your headshot is a little more professional than a nice selfie in portrait mode on your iPhone, though!
  • Dance Shoes: pay attention to the audition information and study the show so you have an idea of what to bring! For example, if I had auditioned for Oklahoma, I would have brought character shoes, tap shoes, and my pointe shoes because there is theater dancing, tap, and ballet in that show. For Rock of Ages, I’m only going to worry about bringing my character shoes because that show mostly features theater and jazz dance.
  • Backup Dance Shoes: if you have multiple pairs of dance shoes, I recommend bringing some just because you never know. I have two pairs of character shoes, and I plan on bringing both of them and my jazz shoes in case my feet hurt or something. Murphy’s Law, y’all. Be prepared.
  • Water: hydrate, hydrate, hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. Take care of yourself so that you can give your best audition!
  • Jacket: I get cold, so I always bring a jacket just in case. If you get cold, bring a jacket that coordinates with your outfit!
  • Hair and Makeup Touch-Up Supplies: no need to bring your entire bathroom, but I like to bring something to pull my hair back in case I change my mind, lipstick in case it needs a touch-up, and a little powder to keep my face from melting off. It sounds cliche, but when you look good, you feel good. Feel confident in your appearance and it will show in your audition!

My other recommendation is to decide what you want to bring to your audition a week or so ahead of time so that if you have to buy some of it, then you’re already prepared and won’t feel as rushed! Auditions are a little intimidating on your own, so use some preparation to feel ready!

I’ll add my backup shoes and resume to this little pile, but it’s a start!

What should I do in the days leading up to the audition?

Alright, it’s the last couple of days before your audition… What should you do??

First of all, don’t panic. Worrying is a waste of your time and energy when the only thing you should focus on is what you can control. If you’ve been preparing over time, then there should be nothing to worry about! And even if you haven’t, stay calm and take care of everything as soon as you can.

Be sure to take care of yourself! Don’t go into overdrive with preparation by singing twice as much, going to as many dance classes as you can manage in your schedule, spending hours memorizing scenes from the musical just in case… No. Stop. Stay consistent with practicing the audition selection, but don’t overdo it. If anything, find someone that you can sing in front of to practice with an “audience” if you have a little stage fright (like me!).

And again, take care of yourself! Take your vitamin C, keep drinking water, get plenty of sleep, keep exercising for your endorphins, and make time to rest and relax. Not only are you preparing to audition, this is your chance to practice for shows, too! Especially for a long run, taking care of yourself so you can perform your best is extremely important.

A quote I’ve heard in many circles in my life goes something like this: “luck is when opportunity meets preparation”. Throughout my career as a dancer, choreographer, and teacher, I have seen that this is absolutely true. Being lucky is great, but you can also create your own luck.

As you think about all of the things that you can control in your audition, remember that you can create your own luck with preparation! Practice, study the show, plan your first impression, bring anything you think you might need, and take care of yourself leading up to the audition so that you can put your best foot forward.

I won’t be checking back in here until after I audition this tomorrow night, but I’m looking forward to putting all of these plans into action and sharing my experience with everyone here! I’ve got butterflies, and I’m a little nervous, but I’m doing what I can to control the only things that I can, because that’s all we can do.

Wish me luck, and I’ll check in again, soon!

Leave a comment

I’m Jess

girl with curly blonde hair, blue eyes, wearing a blue top

Welcome to my site! I’m a dancer, dance teacher, and choreographer based in South Texas and I can’t wait to share about everything dance with you!

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started